Catching Up on PS3 Exclusives

Standard

I did it. I finally got a PS3. After years of having an Xbox 360 I finally scraped enough money together to get a PS3 and a metric ton of games. Honestly, I feel like I’ve come home. In the past month I’ve played several games. Here are my impressions on some of them:

Metal Gear Solid 4 – I’m a huge Metal Gear fan. In fact one of the items on my Bucket List was to finally play this game. I’m happy to say it did not disappoint. Granted, it has all the things (both good and bad) that one expects from Metal Gear Solid. I was still drawn into the narrative and and had a great time sneaking around and blowing up bosses. It stumbles in the final act with a crappy fighting “mini-game” type thing which infuriated me to no end. An amazing game despite that.

Infamous – I’m about three quarters through this one. It’s okay. I like the morality choices even if it’s pretty black and white. However, I’m getting to the point where the side objectives are getting repetitive. Also, Cole McGrath is not Spider-Man but he sure sticks to every single surface like he is. Overall, it’s fun but not mind-blowing.

Uncharted – This game can go die in a fire. Seriously. It can’t decide whether it wants to be Prince of Persia, Tomb Raider, or Gears of War. Sadly, it usually picks Gears of War leading me from gunfight to gunfight with foes who absorb bullets like they were made of kevlar. I mean, if you’re wearing no shirt and I shoot you in the chest with a machine gun, you should be dead right? Oh, and the jetski. UGH! Least fun thing since Mega Man 8’s ice sled. People said this game was like “playing a movie.” Um… no. The constant gun battles kill any momentum the game is trying to muster. I hope the other two are a lot better.

Heavy Rain – Just beat this one today. Oh. My. Word. What an amazing experience! The graphics are fantastic, the story is engrossing. While it is definitely an “interactive movie” more than it is a game, that’s okay! Still one of the most moving and interesting games I’ve played in quite a while. I’m not ashamed to say I cried at the end. Some of the voice acting could have been better, though. And the “sex scene” is…well… not very sexy.

Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch – Haven’t played too much of this one. That being said I can say that this is the most gorgeous game I have ever played. The artwork and graphics are simply stunning. It’s from the guy who did “Spirited Away” and “Ponyo” and all those. The gameplay itself is pretty old school RPG. However, I’m finding if I use anything else than my first familiar I get school pretty quickly. I do want to see this one through to the end though.

Kingdom Hearts Remix 1.5 – I loved the original on the PS2 and this version is just as good. It looks bright and colorful in HD too. Not too much to say about this one. It’s Kingdom Hearts.

God of War II – I picked up the God of War saga out of curiosity. I guess I’m hoping that II and III might do something to make Kratos out to be a bit less of a douche. Kratos is, in my opinion, one of the most unlikable heroes in gaming. This PS2 sequel has dropped some of the camera angle/box puzzle nonsense from the first game. At least so far.

Dragon’s Crown –  I haven’t spent too much time with this one, but the time I have spent is fun. Great 2D graphics to boot. I’m not quite as angry about the big boobs as some other people are though.

That it’s for right now. I’m going to work on finishing Infamous, God of War II, and Na No Kuni.

Leave a Reply

