My Mom Is Awesome.

Standard

Sunday is Mother’s Day and I wanted to take a little time to talk about my mother. She’s awesome. I don’t know what my life would be like today without her. A lot of how I think and feel comes from her. So to celebrate I’d like to talk about some specific things I think my mom did right.

1. She didn’t sweat the small stuff.

One of mom’s basic philosophies was, “If it’s not going to be a problem at 15 or 20, it’s probably not that big of a deal now.” This extended to just about everything. Mom didn’t get upset at my progress (or lack of progress) with potty training because she knew I wouldn’t still be peeing my pants when I went off to college. As I got older, she didn’t freak out because I listened to heavy metal. Granted, it was mostly Christian, but some moms I knew just couldn’t handle that. When I wanted to grow my hair long the only rule she had was that I had to keep it clean. She just couldn’t see flipping out over stuff that probably wasn’t going to matter in the long run. Especially since I don’t have any hair now to speak of!

2. She did stuff.

My mom and my aunt drove my cousin and I all up and down upstate New York and Pennsylvania to go to Christian metal concerts. They took us to a music festival at Darien Lake called Kingdom Bound for several years straight. Our family went on cool trips like Niagra Falls. Later, she went to see the Lord of the Rings movies with me. When I was little she would take me on “adventure walks” in the woods near our house.

3. She taught me how to drive.

I can attribute what are possibly the two greatest lessons about driving to my mom. A) Pay attention to everyone and everything because no one is watching out for you and B) You might have the right of way but if you’re not careful you can be just as dead. Heck these days people aren’t even paying attention to what they themselves are doing, let alone what you’re doing. This is exactly what I’ll be telling Lexi when it’s time for her to drive.

4. She let me go.

This is probably the thing I’m the most thankful for. I remember talking with a co-worker who was telling me about his future and how he was moving away. He told me about how his mom was throwing a fit because he wanted to go. I am so grateful my mom didn’t do that. After I graduated college with my fancy-schmancy bible degree I had no future to speak of. A friend offered to let me stay with him for a bit if I wanted to move to Florida. I took him up on the offer because I desperately needed a change. Because of that move I got married and have a kid – two of the best things I’ve ever done. Not only did mom not guilt-trip me, she supported me every step of the way. Even today living so far away I can always call her for advice or just to talk. I consider my mom an actual friend and I think that’s rare and wonderful.

This is in no way a comprehensive list of the things I think mom did well. It’s just the things that stick out right now. There’s a lot of good moms out there, but I like mine the best!

Oh, I forgot. In addition to all the wonderful stuff she does, she also wrote a book. You should totally go buy it either in hardcopy or Kindle form. Book Two should be out soon!

I love you mom!

One thought on “My Mom Is Awesome.

Leave a Reply

